LGV Rhin Rhône - branche est

English version

Three complementary branches

The Rhine-Rhone high-speed line consists of three branches: the Eastern branch, the Western branch and the Southern branch.

The Rhine-Rhone high-speed line will have three branches: East, West and South.

When completed the new line will resemble a three-pointed star:


  • an eastern branch linking Mulhouse to Dijon, via Belfort-Montbéliard and Besançon over a total distance of 190 km (140 km in the first phase).
  • a western branch linking the eastern branch to the Greater Paris area and the North of France. This part of the project will provide seamless high-speed services towards Paris, via Dijon.
  • a southern branch linking the eastern branch with the conventional Dijon-Dole line in Lyons and with the South of France. It will also slash journey times between the East of France and the Rhone Alps region.